Requiem for the Struggle

sunburstI have been having a terrible time getting back into the rhythm of writing this blog since returning from our furlough. Life tends to cycle. It is a breathing organism. It is a struggle to continue to thrive while fighting off the ever-present process of dying that started at birth.

Mortality.

We have ups and downs. We are conditioned by our humanity to think in terms of this struggle from a physical standpoint.

Our physical being seems to be the most important part of our existence because it is the most tangible. We feel hot or cold. We feel hungry or sleepy. We feel pain when we are injured. Our bodies demand our attention or they will cease.

It’s when I am consumed by this one dimension that my focus shifts. I place too much emphasis on the things around me. Those things that I can see and feel; that I can do something about. I lose sight of the more pressing matters. I forget that changing my environment doesn’t change the man. I forget that I can’t work my way to a paradise, but I try. No matter how many checks I put on my lists, I am no closer to Him. I am missing something. Life seems cloudy. But that’s not really life; not a complete one, anyway.

It’s at this point I begin to grieve in my prayer times. When I do, I go to my playlist, my music library. I look for those tunes that help me connect to my Father. I did that this morning and I pulled out the nugget below. The video is a little old-school but the lyrics are great. If you don’t know about John Cox then “You’re welcome.”

Sunny Day by John Cox

 

Please tell me if it’s right to ask You every night
To save me
‘Cause I should’ve known by now how to use the sacred vow that
You gave me

Strip me of all my pride, let me come along for the ride
Forever
Don’t leave me all alone, all I want is us to be
Together

Bridge:
The sky is clearing for a sunny day
Like a cloud my troubles drift away
The sky is clearing for a sunny day, sunny day

Chorus:
Seems like You’ve opened up the door
I’ve never felt this way before
You traded sunshine for my rain
I am oh so glad You came

Never seen a love like this
It makes me wonder what I’ve missed
Never will I be the same
I am oh so glad you came

Verse 2:
Take a long look into my past, you will find me just as bad as
The worst ones
Closer look and you might find, I was born with an evil mind
Like the first ones

Strip me of all my pride, let me come along for the ride
Forever
Don’t leave me all alone, all I want is us to be
Together

Bridge:

Chorus:

What makes your day sunny? How do you chase away the clouds? Do you kick the dog?

2 thoughts on “Requiem for the Struggle

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

