Addicted To Purpose

My dad is a fishing addict. He loves to go fishing. He has a sticker on his truck that says “Fish tremble at the sound of my name.” He’s one of those wackos that says it doesn’t even matter if he catches anything. He just likes being out there enjoying the water and nature and free time. Make no mistake though, he loves bringing home a bucket full, too.

I think you’ll remember my Granny was a fishing fanatic. If she’s willing to climb barbed wire and ignore the “no trespassing” signs to get at an untouched pond then she’s in the club, too. What do you think happens when these two get together?

I think I was too young to remember this story. I may not have even existed which would make me too young. This is a retelling of a telling. My dad had his aluminum John boat loaded up and was heading out to conquer the deep. He invited my Granny to go along with him. What was she going to say? Her veins ran with pond water and I think she had gills. They grabbed their gear and headed out, already formulating their fish stories.

This little boat was kinda small. I was reminded of that anytime I was in it. More so after the time I inadvertently kicked over the bait container releasing 500 crickets (different story).

They arrived at the lake and launched the boat. They tossed in their tackle and pushed off. After selecting the perfect spot they armed their rods with the secret weapons of untold years of experience. The water was smooth. The temperature was mild. My dad spied a great spot to cast his bait. He reached back to fling his lure into this fish lotto and found he’d snagged something.

lureHe turned and tracked his line to find his lure in the top of my Granny’s head. He caught the Big One alright, and this one wasn’t getting away. Two of the three points on his treble hook had sunk in past the barb. Granny said the hook didn’t hurt as bad as him trying to jerk her head off.

Dad looked at the lure pinned to my Granny’s scalp and tried to free it. He gingerly pulled and tugged to no avail. It wouldn’t budge. He started getting a little nervous. He later told me it was because that was his lucky lure and he didn’t want to lose it. Dad announced, “I guess we need to head to the emergency room and have them take it out.”

To which my Granny answered,

“Not before I get some fishing in. It doesn’t hurt and I’m not bleeding to death. Besides, we went through all the trouble of getting out here and it looks like it’s going to be a great day.”

They fished for a while and it was indeed a great day. They caught several fish and had a fun time together. They later stopped by the ER to retrieve my dad’s favorite lure from my Granny’s head and called it a day.

Why would she do that? Why would she ignore the obvious pain?

She went with a purpose and would not allow some distraction to keep her from it. She was focused on that one thing that was the reason for the trip.

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’[a] 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[b] 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”  Matthew 22:37-40 

What’s your purpose? What’s distracting you from doing it?

4 thoughts on “Addicted To Purpose

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

