We Are the Champions

We did it y’all. We made it happen.

We are the Champions!

Your donations pushed me to a commanding lead in the Beard of the Year campaign. I held that lead and at midnight last night it was confirmed that I was the Beard of the Year 2012.

I hope Queen doesn’t mind me borrowing their success anthem and modifying it a little.

I’ve paid my dues
Dime after dime
I grew patchy hair
It wasn’t the time
Razor mistakes 
I’ve made a few 
I’ve had to cut it all off, start again
But finally it grew

We are the champions – my friends 
I grew the hair- you gave for the win
We are the champions
We are the champions 
No time for smooth chins
‘Cause we are the champions – of the world

I would like to thank my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, without Him none of this would be possible. I want to thank my Moms. It was tough growing up in suburbia but we did it, Mom.(Grammy reference)

I want to thank the unique blend of environmental experiences that culminated in my laziness. Without these factors I may have been inclined to shave, but I resisted and look at me now. Remember, kids, hard work gets you a smooth face and no beard awards.

I want to thank Stephen Haggerty and his blog, The Bearded Idealist, for creating the series. He then compounded my thanks by selecting me as the inaugural Beard of the Month winner in April.

I would like to congratulate all of the fellow monthly winners–the participants in this year’s contest. It was a lot of fun. I raise a fist to you and shout “Power to the beard!” in honor of your bearded commitment.

Finally…

We may have finished the Beard of the Year campaign but the Critical Aftercare for Sex Trafficking Victims project is not fully funded. I would encourage you to continue to give. Spread the word so this thing can get off the ground sooner rather than later.

Thanks to all of you, my readers and friends. I could not have won without your generous donations.

Have a great New Year!!

10 thoughts on “We Are the Champions

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

