Christian Dictionary: Discernment

Today could very well be the beginning of a new series. Regular posts created to poke a little satirical finger at a common problem. Cause that’s how we roll here. (Check: used ridiculous old school slang)
I was on a fitness/brainstorming walk the other day. Please do not confuse this with any form of speed walking–competitive, in formal attire or otherwise. My body was not created to spaghetti in the necessary fashion to participate in that. I tried it once and was nearly arrested.

What?

Oh yeah, during my walk I began to think about how I, as a Christian, choose to liberate certain words from their original meanings. I don’t think I’m the only one but it’s pretty low class to point fingers at you and shout your failures. I know, that usually hasn’t stopped me, but we’re trying to make improvements around here.

 

Today’s word is-

DISCERNMENT

Discernment is described as the activity of determining the value and quality of a certain subject. (Wiki)

It is the trait of judging wisely and objectively. To view a subject in depth and perceive how to discriminate the obscure characteristics. (Dictionary)

Popular Christian Definition of Discernment-

using mock wisdom to fool yourself into thinking it’s godly to avoid uncomfortable situations.

There it is folks. I’m a crappy Christian. I twist the popular lingo to make my walk easy.

Try not to tip your hand to any other words we twist in the comments since I may want to use them for other entries in this series. If you want to give me an idea send me an email. Thanks.

Have you ever discerned your way out of something you didn’t want to do? 

4 thoughts on “Christian Dictionary: Discernment

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

