Whadduya Know?

The New Testament is history. I mean it’s all behind me, you too. Behind you, not that you’re behind me. ANYWAY. They may call it new but its really old. I’ve been poking around in iTunes U and decided to listen to a series of audio podcasts from Yale University. The class is an introduction to the New Testament strictly as a historical document. There is no theological discussion in it.

The professor is lecturing about the historical climate and culture during New Testament times. He is covering the actual age of the writings as well as the time period covered in the books themselves. It is totally different from other material I’ve studied before and I am really enjoying it.

Below I have created a little quiz taken from info found in these lectures. If you’re interested, take the quiz and see how you do. We will work on the honor system. Only you will know if the temptation of Google at your fingertips was too much.

Just click the little arrow to advance through the questions.

[mtouchquiz 1]

After listening to roughly 7 hours of these lectures I have come to two conclusions.

  1. The Bible is fascinating theologically, historically, or otherwise.
  2. If I am going to share what I believe with someone, I need to know why I believe it and where it came from.

1 Peter 3:15 tells us to “…Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have…” Shouldn’t we know whether a belief is specifically written in the Bible or based in Christian tradition? If, in sharing our faith, we are asked to, shouldn’t we be able to articulate the reasoning behind our faith?

What’s something you thought was in the Bible but you found out was not?

4 thoughts on “Whadduya Know?

Add yours

  1. Woohoo only missed one! 🙂
    Hubby was SHOCKED to find his often used quote about spilling your seed on the ground was not in the Bible. He heard it a LOT growing up and was actually upset…his mom was really big on inviting Mormons and whoever else knocked on the door in to discuss the Bible and her grasp of the Bible is one of the few positive things about her.
    I grew up Episcopalian (and a raging liberal) so I tend to check things out for myself…finding the sermons in our last church took things out of context was one of many reasons we left…if the little “cliff notes” at the bottom don’t jive with what the pastor’s saying there’s a problem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

