Photo Friday

It’s been a busy week here at Rambling with the Barba. I had two, yeah 2, guest post as well as the normal great content. This week I have some goodies from near our house. Some of these I took today, others I’ve had a while. I hope you enjoy them.

 If you’re a fan of pickled eggs, and who isn’t, then your going to love these bite-sized dainties. These are pickled Quail eggs made from the variety of Quail known locally as Cordoniz. Yummy! You could pop, like, 5 or 6 in your mouth at once. It’s like yolk-filled popcorn. Or not.

 

 

 

 

 

These little beauties are called Acerola. The kids call them Manzanitas or little apples. They are a type of Crabapple I think. They are growing out of control on the tree 20 feet from my porch. They make a great juice reminiscent of Kool Aid. Sadly these plump little devils met their demise immediately following this picture. A memorial will be held tomorrow where I will eat some of their friends and family as well.

 

This is the Sun setting from under the Mango trees. Life here happens under the Mangos. They provide many families with food. They provide everyone will much needed shade. Air conditioning isn’t wide spread and usually it’s usually only one room. Rural area homes may only have an area to get out of the rain so the rest of life happens under these trees. Cooking over a fire, eating, sleeping, all of it outside.

 

 

 

 

 

Did I mention we have Termite mounds here? This one is in front of the house. It’s about 4 1/2 feet tall and about 6 feet round at the base. This is not the biggest one I’ve seen by far. I’ve seen some over 7 feet tall. These things are not just the dirt piled up. The termites use some kind of enzyme-like saliva to bond with the red clay and form a structure that would rival concrete. They are incredibly hard. To get rid of it you have to dig it up.

 

 

 

Finally, to close this week, the gas pump. I know gas prices are a big topic of discussion these days. I really struggled with using this photo. I didn’t what to look like the Oh-yeah-that’s-nothing guy. The pump sells per liter of gas, about a quart. The price per liter is 7188 guaranies per liter. The day of this pic the exchange rate was 4230. So the math goes like this 3.8 liters per gallon times 7188=27,314.4o guaranies per gallon divided by 4230=$6.46 per gallon of gas. Gas here is on a steady rise and the price for us is compounded by a sluggish exchange rate. Drive less=cost less. The culture here affords us a little less driving than in the U.S. There’s also the army of 1950’s vintage buses to take you where you need to go, if you’re not in a hurry.

There ya go, this week’s visual tour of Paraguay Barba style.

Which is your favorite?

5 thoughts on “Photo Friday

Add yours

  1. I want some of the pickle eggs,the mound I’ve seen and I love the acerolas so guess I need to get back over there huh….

    Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

