Am I Attractive?

I ran across a discussion while surfing(the net, not actaul waves)about the Law of Attraction. The Law states that for us to gain the things that we want, we must visualize them.

I want a million dollars so I say repeatedly, “I want a million dollars.” After a while I change the phrase to “I have a million dollars,” and then I believe I have a million dollars and the money has no choice but to make its way to me. I have positively affected the universal forces to ATTRACT my goal. It is believed that the same applies for the negative side of this paradigm. If I visualize and then believe something negative, I will become a crap magnet as well.

We have a similar school of thought in the Christian world. I know we don’t want to think of it as the same thing, but we have it. Matthew 12:36, for example, is often quoted as a warning to the speaker of “idle words”. We pattern at times after the Romans 4:17 phrase of “calling things that were not as though they were.”

I am all too familiar with the “name-it-and-claim-it” crowd in Christianity (it seems very Law of Attraction) as well as the prosperity doctrine (again, seems LoA to me). The question is, How responsible are we for the words we speak, in a spiritual sense?

The Law of Attraction is clearly a New Age-y, feel-good, segment of spiritual designing that is gaining ground over the last few years, and the Name-and-Claim and Prosperity-Doctrine segments of Christianity are growing in like manner. These are all very much alike, but are any of these the correct interpretation of what God had in mind? Or is God’s view a little more toward the spoken-word school of thought that calls every word under scrutiny? Basically this is summed up as the power of positive thinking/speaking.

What part do our words play in the state of our lives? The scripture has lots of advice on the quantity and quality of our words, but how do they work to open or close the spirit realm?

In Philippians 4:8 it tells us “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things”.

Is that because by doing this we draw those things to us? I think not, because in the next verse it says those things that we have received, learned, heard and seen in Paul to do and “the God of peace shall be with you”.  Neither of these verses lead me to believe that we can “will” goodness our way. I am reminded of the scripture in Matthew 5:45 where the sun rises and the rain falls on the just and the unjust caused by the Father, not our visualizations.

I honestly don’t know where the balance is on this one. However I do know that 2 Corinthians 10:3 says that we live in the flesh but we don’t war in the flesh and in verse 5 we are to “bring every thought into captivity”. Our words were formed as thoughts first, therefore we must manage them. I think as Christians it is counterchristos to not be in charge of our words. To be the naysayer or the pessimist speaks against the God within us.

Having said that, I have to admit that I am not the poster child for positive Christian words or thoughts. I am sarcastic, mean-spirited and generally sour at times. BOO on the Barba! This is neither edifying to Christ nor is it a solid platform for God to work through. So to answer the question from above, my words are killing–and maybe grieving–the spirit.

I am also thinking about Matthew 18, especially verse 19. In prayer when we have 2 or 3 agreeing we can motivate God. There is context to deal with here and not time for it in this post, but we can, according to scripture, pray and expect to see results. I do believe that is within the framework of a solid relationship with Christ as a true follower. If you relentlessly follow Him, I mean dying totally to self and pursuing Him, then you will not be seeking to use your words as some kind of sorcery to wedge God into providing something outside of His plan.

Am I attractive? How should we use our words?

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

