That Makes Perfect Sense

I have been doing some more thinking(AAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH!) I know, right? Yesterday I got the chance to sit in on a very informal type of training session with some interns that are currently volunteering at the ministry where we now live. We got onto the subject of God’s will and how to know it. We covered the “open door” imagery as well as the “perfect versus permissive” will of God. The one thing that kept coming to my mind was “How do I seek the will of God?” I thought of many decisions I made in the past, as well as anecdotes shared with me by friends and family in this conundrum. It seems we Christians have a tendency to weigh all the circumstances and use logic to decipher an illogical God.

For instance I think, “That is a great church. It is a good offer to be Youth Pastor, they have a good group and a great facility. The pay will help my family. My kids love the ministry for children there. My wife and I already know a lot of the people there so transition will be easy. It is close to our house. I really want to do it. Let’s pray about it.” Then we do pray but it comes out like this “Thank you God for the wonderful opportunity you have placed before us. Help us as we take this job to be your representatives and to lead the youth of church X to know you better.”  (This scenario doesn’t have to be a question of taking a staff job, but any decision in our lives.)

Somewhere between the offer and the “pray about it” I have already made my decision based on the fact that it makes sense. Surely if all these things line up God must have rubber stamped and signed off on it. The problem is when I look at the Bible. I make my choices based on what I say “makes sense” and then read how an ax head floats to the surface of the river. I weigh the prospects and decide that logically it would be dumb to make a different selection, then I read where the water rolled back and the people walked across on dry land, twice. I say “look how God has opened the doors for this,” then I read of one man killing a thousand with the jawbone of donkey, the virgin birth, the blind receiving sight, the lame walking, the dead raised and Jesus and Peter walking on water.

The problem with my little testing program is that in I Corinthians 1:27 it says “But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty”. THOSE THINGS DO NOT MAKE SENSE. If God bound Himself to the concept of appearing logical to us humans in every situation, He would not be God. He would be a human; no more than a manager. I have for years been putting God on trial with the proof of logically making sense to my “seen” world when all along He is “seeing” the entire picture without even the bother of time to cope with. I am not trying to say that when faced with a decision we automatically take the one that makes the least sense. However, we shouldn’t eliminate those crazy ideas based on  that criteria, either. Seek His friendship and all your choices will make sense when seen in light of your trust in HIM.

What has God done in your life that doesn’t make sense? What made sense to you to begin with, but turned out to be wrong?

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

